Mr John D. Coates

ICAS President


Lawyer, LLB Sydney University; IOC Vice-President (2013-2017 and 2020- ); Former Chair IOC Tokyo 2020 Coordination and Legal Affairs Commissions; Former President, Australian Olympic Committee (1990-2022); former Council Member, International Rowing Federation (FISA, 1992-2014); former Senior Vice President, Sydney 2000 Organising Committee of the Games (SOCOG) and Chef de Mission of Australian Olympic Teams in Seoul, Barcelona, Atlanta, Sydney, Athens and Beijing; Director various Australian public companies and statutory boards.

Mr Michael B. Lenard OLY

ICAS Vice President


Bachelor of Business Administration (Accounting; Finance); Doctor of Law; Lawyer; former Senior Managing Director of Paladin Realty Partners/William E. Simon & Sons private equity firm; former Partner in the international law firm of Latham & Watkins; with respect to the United States Olympic Committee, formerly, inter alia, its Vice-President, member of its Executive Committee and Board of Directors, Chair of its Key Strategies Task Force and Joint Marketing Committee, Special Counsel to its Ethics Committee, head of its Athletes Performance Group and member and Vice-Chair of its Athletes' Advisory Council;  former member of the Board of Directors of the Organizing Committee for the 1996 Olympic Games and its Audit and Ethics Committee; member of the United States Olympic Team of Handball in the 1984 Olympic Games.

Dr Elisabeth Steiner

ICAS Vice President and Deputy President of the Appeals Arbitration Division


Attorney-at-law in Vienna (Austria), Former Judge of the European Court of Human Rights (France, 2001-2015); Lectured at numerous universities world-wide on Human Rights Law, for example at Stanford University (USA), at Hong Kong university (China) or the University of Vienna (Austria). Visiting Professor at the Renmin University of Beijing and the Yantai University (China). Holding an Phd in Law (University of Vienna) and an Phd in Economics and Business (Vienna University of Economics and Business). Admitted to the Bar for Vienna, lower Austria and Burgenland.

Mr Antonio F. Arimany

ICAS Vice President


Secretary General, World Triathlon (WT) (2016-current); ITU Legal, Finance and Administration Director (2010-2015); Chair, Legal Group of ASOIF (2016-current); Specialized sport lawyer (2009-2011); Managing Director of Madrid Olympic Bid (2006-2009 & 2004-2005); Managing Director of Jaca Olympic Bid (2005-2006); Regional Manager for NOCs, Organising Committee of the Athens Olympic and Paralympic Games; President, Royal Spanish Winter Sports Federation (2001-2002) and General Secretary (1996-1997); Senior Tax Advisor & auditor, Garrigues Abogados (1997-2002); Finance & Legal Director, Royal Spanish Motoring Association (1996).

Ms Carole Malinvaud

President of the CAS Ordinary Division


Partner Co-head in the Arbitration practice group of Gide Loyrette Nouel; specialist in international commercial law and international arbitration; graduate of Paris II University and Harvard law School; member of the Paris and New York bar; Chair of the International Chamber of Commerce French international arbtiration commission (ICC France) (2013-present); Chair of the Comité Français de l'Arbitrage (2013-2016); Chair of the first instance disciplinary commission of the French Golf Federation; former member of French Junior National Golf Team.

Ms Corinne Schmidhauser OLY

President of the Appeals Arbitration Division


Attorney-at-law; President of Sportschool Feusi Bern; Former President Anti-doping Switzerland; Former member of the FIS Legal Committee (2002-2014); Former Head of the Legal Committee of Swiss Ski; Member of parliament Bern; Former CAS arbitrator; Former President of the Swiss Sports Lawyer Association (ASDS); Winner of the World Cup overall slalom (alpine skiing) 1987. Participant in the Olympic Games in Calgary, 1988.

Secretary (non member)

Mr Matthieu Reeb

CAS Director General
Lausanne, Switzerland


ICAS in images

  • Mr John Coates, President (2011 - )

  • Le Président et Directeur Général

  • S.E. le juge Kéba Mbaye, Président fondateur du TAS 1984-2007